Ohanaeze constitutes 40-man electoral committee

Ohanaeze constitutes 40-man electoral committee

News | Dec 7, 2020 05:42am | FORUM 234 Connect |

The Ohanaeze Ndigbo on Sunday named a 40-man committee ahead of its January 11 election.

The committee was selected at a meeting by the organisation’s highest decision making organ, Ime-Obi.

Ohanaeze President-General Chief John Nwodo said his administration would not impose a successor.

He said: “I have no desire to nominate or choose my successor contrary to widespread reports in the media.

“My administration cannot undermine the unity of Igboland no matter the pressure by anybody.

“What we have done so far is to set the template for a peaceful transition and whatever anybody has done to suggest that we are working towards a consensus candidate and in the process, rob Ndigbo of ideal leadership, is not true. We are committed to a credible process that will be accepted by Ndigbo.”

Nwodo named 40 persons proposed by his executive from the five Igbo speaking states, including Rivers and Delta, as members of the 2021 Electoral Committee.

He announced that while Imo, Abia, Enugu, Anambra and Ebonyi had four members each on the list, Delta and Rivers states had three members each.

Other members were drawn from major Igbo groups, such as the Ndigbo Lagos, Association of Southeast Town Unions (ASETU), the Diaspora Youth Wing, Ohanaeze Abuja, Aka Ikenga, Izu-Umunna, among others.

Tags :

Share button :


234 Connect ()

--- No Recent Comments ---

Leave a Comment